top of page

A WALK, SONGS & TALKS across CUMBRIA, ENGLAND for MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS

 

Background Blog: Uke can do it!

I used to be ok on guitar. Not great, but making some ok sounds and learning more all the time. After a traumatic event in 2006 I needed surgery on my wrist and a lot of physiotherapy to get things working again. No, I couldn't play guitar. I couldn't do a lot of things but I was determined to get some music back in my life. After a year or so I found a ukulele in a secondhand shop. Perfect. Need to exercise your fingers? Get them stretching a bit? Well squeezing a ukulele neck is much more interesting than a tennis ball and that's how I started songwriting again.

Although my songs are not overtly about mental health, there's no denying that the odd reference will creep in because the songs are a reflection of what I'm thinking. When I deliver the songs and talks during the walk, I'll be matching themes in the songs with relevant aspects of living with mental health; change, balance, friendship, society and more. For a taster of the songs please check out my soundcloud page (link below).

If you like what you hear then have a look at when and where I'm performing in Cumbria this July. You can even play along if you want - ukuleles and kazoos are particularly welcome!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page